How can I stop him from hitting ??

We have this problem with Jeremy boy…I’ve been told it’s a phase. But sometime I see it as unexceptionable acting. And I have found that slapping his hands back doesn’t work, it just makes him do it more. Even we try to slow talk with him also doesn’t work , he even try to hit me when i slow talk to him . Anyone he can hit and make him shout like mad when things didn’t come his way ..

1st Example:
One day I bought him a toy. But before he can have it , we need to pay for it , once I hand over the toys to the cashier, he shout at the cashier and wanna to hit the cashier, of cos he cant reach the cashier.

2nd example :
I was waiting for my in law at the fitting room, at the mean time Jeremy was playing in another fitting room, when some one wanna used the fitting room, he shout and try to hit the person too ….

3rd example :
We were buying an Mickey mouse cloth to make a curtain for his own room in future , but when the girl try to take the cloth and cut , he again shout and try to hit the girl.

Manymore example . Sometime I get very SAD and MAD to see my boy behave this way, it’s hurt when I see him hitting people which love him so much . We try many way, but doesn’t work . Till we have to put him to the “noti-corner” till he calm down and behave good… But it doesn’t work much . After saying “sorry” …. After few minute he forget and hit again. How to stop ??? I worry in future when I have to send him to childcare , he will hit people , hit others kids… end up being hit ….:( worry worry …

My son simply doesn’t care. Has anyone had a child grow out of this phase? How long it’s take ?? How to handle ??? I wandering he learn from someone ??

“Dear bb, Mummy & Daddy don’t like to punish u , we don’t like to make
u stand at the corner and let u cry . But u were behave bad lately by hitting people
around you, people u know or u don’t know. Mummy very sad to see u
behave such a way. Hope it was just a phase and u be growing up as a good and
obedient lovely boy. We love u so much.”

11 Responses to “How can I stop him from hitting ??”

  1. Ita Says:

    Anggie
    Dun worry about it. My boys are also like that. Joshua has out grown that part. Now is Joel’s turn. He will reach the nearest person he can get hold of sometimes just to let his anger out. We sometimes scold him and try to explain to him but does not work. What to do…hopefully he too will outgrown that habit.

  2. slavemom Says:

    At least he says “Sorry” n willing to stand at the noti corner. My boy oso has this hitting habit. But not to strangers, oni to us n Kakak. N he doesn’t listen to reasoning. Wat I do is pretend that it’s vy painful. Sometimes he’ll calm down u sayang me back. Maybe u can pretend u’re in terrible pain (exaggerate the expression) when he hits u. Hopefully this phase will pass soon.

  3. mybabybay Says:

    When he hit, immediately take his hand, go down to his level, look him to the eye and say NO! Persistence will work.

    He is still young to learn how to control himself but you must make him aware that what he does is not right.

  4. andrewjune Says:

    oopsss…my rachael’s time will soon come to that phase…
    now she’s screaming her lungs out at everyone *headache*

    i guess he will soon overcome that phase…

    btw, lil jeremy looks so pitiful in the photos (crying mah)…but what to do, children must be taught what is right and what is wrong!

  5. Vien Says:

    I was gonna say the same as mybabybay. Persistence and Consistency are the ways to go. Also, be ready to drop whatever you’re planning to buy (if you’re shopping) and bring him out from the store if he misbehaves. Find a place where you can talk to him. Give him a mini timeout or just simply go home if he has a major meltdown. This will also curb you from being embarrassed when he’s ranting and crying in the public. Let him know if he misbehaves he isn’t going to enjoy the rest of the trip.

    Once he calms down, tell him what he did isn’t nice and just drum this into him.

    Kids need someone to guide them. Remember they are born with a clean slate and it is up to us adults to nurture and guide them.

  6. Sasha Says:

    I have the same problem also. jayden will hit us when we say NO. So we’re also scratching our heads, but I guess we need to be persistent and keep reminding him and distract him. what to do..tahan la.

  7. Julie Says:

    If Jonathan did the same like this, I will beat his palm and gave him a stern look.

    When I was little, whenever I see small children, I can’t resist to pinch and make them cry. Then quickly walk away innocently.

  8. vickylow Says:

    Previously Chloe have no patient too. But ever since she starts the musical movement class she changes a lot. Every kid is to wait for their turn, learn meaning of stop and wait. They are required sit still while given turn to play the music instruments, fold arms b4 they have permission to start play it. Maybe you can practice at home or join the class
    too.

  9. wen Says:

    they will outgrow it but have to keep on explaining why he cant do that.

  10. The Cooking Ninja Says:

    !s:xqw::² My little girl does hitting a little bit when she was little and I would usually cry out and say it hurts a lot and show her how painful that is and ask her to say sorry by kissing the part she hit on. After that, I explained to her that she cannot hit people like that and she wouldn’t want anyone to hit her too etc. Hitting her hands doesn’t stop her but in fact makes her hit more and continue with the behaviour. Consistency and persistence in explaining and giving him time out will work out.

  11. Yatie_T Says:

    Poor Jeremy…. he looks so sad in that photo. He doesn’t know this hitting habit is not nice, he probably think it’s a game or something. He’ll stop hitting once he knows people doesn’t like it.

Leave a Reply

